Are you puzzled by strange Digital marketing terms or abbreviations? Are you looking for a Digital marketing dictionary that explain these Digital marketing terms in plain English? Then you are at the right place. Guru and Chela's Digital marketing Glossary lists and explain the most commonly used terms in Digital Marketing field. This is the best place for those who are beginner in this field to start and familiarize themselves with these basic digital marketing glossary terms. If you would like for us to explain something that is not listed here, then please use our Contact form
301 Redirect – 301 redirect is a permanent redirect used at the point when a web address has been changed forever, it is best to utilize 301 redirect which will divert all the traffic to the new web address.
302 Redirect – It is very much similar to 301 Redirect but 302 redirect is just a temporary redirect, if you want to move your website URL on a temporary base, you should use 302 redirect.
404 Error – 404 Error is standard response code, in computer network communications, which indicates that the client was able to communicate with a given server, but the server could not find what was requested. In other words this error message appears when visitors tries to go to a webpage that does not exist.
A/B Testing – A/B testing is an experiment done to compare two variation of a comparative end to see which one performs better. Often use to test the performance and effectiveness of digital marketing strategies, for example, email marketing, landing pages, and Paid Campaigns etc.
Ad Extensions – Extra snippets of data that can be added to Google Adwords advertisements, including surveys, address, pricing, callouts, application downloads, sitelinks, and click-to-call. Promotion augmentations enable sponsors to make wealthier, more instructive advertisements that take up additional on-page land, which by and large prompt higher Click Through Rates.viability of advertising strategies, for example, email marketing, landing pages, and distinctive sorts of paid ads.
Ad Manager Account – A promoting ad account on Facebook that enables you to run advertisements on the Facebook Ad Network.
Adwords (Google Adwords) – It is platform owned by Google, utilized by publicists to put advertisements on Google search result pages, on Youtube, and on Google promotion arrange locales. Adwords is the essential stage for PPC publicizing.
Alt Text (or Alternative Text) – Alt Text is a html code use to name the Images. Visually impaired users using screen readers will be read an alt attribute to better understand an on-page image. Alt tags will be displayed in place of an image if an image file cannot be loaded. Alt tags provide better image context/descriptions to search engine crawlers, helping them to index an image properly.
Analytics (or Google Analytics) – Google analytics enables website admins to gather insights and information about website visitors. It help webmasters to find out the source of traffic, track their activity on website and how visitors carry on once on the web page.
Anchor Text – Anchor text is a html code use to hyperlink any text. Anchor text is one of the ranking factor which search engine uses.
Adsense (Google Adsense) – A Google program where one can earn money my publishing Google ads of different brand on their website.
Affiliate Marketing – Affiliate marketing is the marketing scheme affiliate marketers earn a commission by promoting other people's (or company's) products. You find a product you like, promote it on your channels such as- Social media, blogs, website and emails etc. to others and earn a piece of the profit for each sale that you make. You can get huge benefit of affiliate marketing your channel have good amount of public attention on you page or website.
API – API stands for Application Programming Interface, a computer programming use to create apps and website etc. that enables software applications to communicate with each other.
Attribution – It help you the understand the ROI on a customer by identifying which marketing strategy worked for your customer like PPC campaign, paid social ad campaign, email campaign or interaction with customers.
Audience – The set of people who are targeted by brand for their marketing strategy are called audience, they can be in selected based on demography, interest, age and gender etc. E.g.:- Women looking for branded clothes online are the target audience for myntra new summer fashion brand collection.
Backlink – Backlinks are incoming links to a web page. When one web page links to any other web page, it's called a Backlink. Backlinks are help to determine the authority & quality of the website depending how many and from where is the website getting the Backlinks. If one higher authority website links to a lower authority website then It helps lower authority site to rank as it has got quality Backlink.
Banner Ad – A Digital image use to display the ad which can be placed across various websites.
Bing – It is an search engine similar to Google and yahoo. Microsoft owns the Bing, and is powers Yahoo! search.
Black Hat – Trick use to create spammy backlinks or tactics used in order to rank a website which is against digital marketing or SEO is called Black Hat. Some of the activity are article spinning, directory spamming and creating spammy backlinks etc.
Blog – A written material in a information or conversational style which is updated on a website regularly or occasionally to provide latest information or knowledge which helps to drive traffic is called blogs.
Bot – Bot are program automated by search engine to visit your website to analysis your website through different algorithms. You can also allow or disallow web pages from being listed by means of search engines like Google. Sometimes bots are also referred as “crawler” or “spiders”.
Bounce Rate – The percentage of visitors visiting your website and leave without doing any action or just closes your page tab is called as bounce rate. E.g. if 100 people visited to your website. Out of them 60 people leave your website without doing any action they just closes your website then your bounce rate is 60%. An average site should have 35-50% bounce rate for good traffic.
Bread Crumbs – A navigation link that helps user to navigate to different page without using the menu bar , it appears mostly on top of pages, like this: Home>Services>Website Design
Business Manager – Facebook account that allows user or business to run multiple ad and page from one account is called business manager
B2B – Business carried out within business, like selling product/services to other businesses is called B-2-B (business to business) E.g.:-Wholesale market
B2C – B2C Is basically businesses selling their product or services to customers in smaller smaller qualities like 1-10 e.g. Amazon, Flipkart or any retail shop.
Bottom of the Funnel – This phrase is often use by sales team, it is use to talk about the moment or action when the customer is convinced or about to buy a product or tend to make an indented action.
Campaign – A series of advertising and marketing messages that markets services or product. There are many types of campaign that we can go for like email campaign, Google Adwords campaign, Facebook campaign etc.
Canonical (rel=canonical) – Canonical tag is use to help crawler to identify original page from other duplicate page created in the website. Canonical tag can also be used to avoid duplicate content issues within a website.
Click-Through-Rate – A metric displaying how regularly humans click on an ad after they see it. It could be calculated by number of clicks / number of impression (how many times it seen). This will be helpful to understand how powerful your ad or message which led to number of click on the ads
Contact Form – A data collection method where the visitor fill in his information such as name, number and email id etc. in order to submit a query or message.
Conversion Rate – Conversion rate is defined as number of successful request created by visitor or define goals completed by a visitor, It can be a product buy, form fill, or a call to action like clicking a button. It calculated as number of goal/number of visitors.
CPA (Cost per Acquisition) – CPA stands for cost per acquisition that means number of lead or goal completed against the amount spend on the getting the traffic for the getting that lead or goal. It can be calculated by dividing the total spends by the number of conversions, for a given period of time. For example, if in a month a PPC account spends $1000 dollars and gets 10 conversions (leads), then the cost per acquisition is $100.
CPC (Cost Per Click) – The amount of money spent for a click on a Ad in pay per click campaign in adwords is called cost per click. The advertiser set the max click rate in order to get max clicks on his ad which will lead to sale of the particular product.
CPM – Cost per thousand (CPM) is a marketing time period used to indicate the rate of one, 1000 advertisement impressions on one web site. If a website charges writer costs $2.00 CPM, that means an advertiser ought to pay $2.00 for each 1,000 impressions for the ad to run on the website. The "M" in CPM represents the Roman numeral for 1,000.
Crawler – Crawler is a Google software that scan the website and different codes to check the quality of webpages for indexing of the page in search engine. It is also known as Spider.
CRO (Conversion Rate Optimization) – In internet marketing, conversion optimization, or conversion rate optimization (CRO) is a method which aims to grow quality number of visit for the website by creating web design that help visitor to navigate website and help them reach the goal page to have maximum number of goal completion. To have the best CRO marketers go for A/B split testing to know which design & content works best for maximum result.
CSS – Cascading style sheets is a style sheet language use to enhance the look of the website. It tell the html website how the design of the website should look visually on screen for mobile & web application.
CTA (Call to Action) – A clickable action as a button with text on a image banner website or ads is called call to action button. It tell visitors what to do next or in other words it purpose to ask people to click on particular button for a better conversion. It can be in any marketing text form like buy now, call today, click to know more, read more etc.
CMS – Web based software to manage content is known as CMS (Content management system).
Content Marketing – Marketing your product by writing content & sharing like a blog , article, or post including a keyword is called content marketing.
Cross-Device – Cross-Device following refers to innovation which empowers following of clients over various gadgets, for example, cell phones, TVs and PCs.
Crowdsourcing – Getting thoughts, facts, or input from different publishers, freelancers, clients, or individuals of your audience.
Digital Marketing – It’s a technique of marketing to market product or services digitally/ online, on web, mobile, display ads etc. its includes specialized marketing practices to reach large audiences through SEO, PPC, CRO, Website, Email marketing, Social media marketing etc.
DNS – The internet system for converting alphabetic names into numeric IP addresses as an example, when a web copy address (URL) is typed right into a browser, DNS servers return the IP address with of the internet server associated with that name. DNS exists because it is easy for us to remember the name then the IP address.
Dofollow – The hyper link that allows link juice to flow from one website to other while crawler crawls the website is called a "dofollow" link.
Duplicate Content – Content that is available on any two web pages with in the website or different website is a duplicate content. Search engine mark the content duplicate on bases on when the content was uploaded in reference to other website or page. Duplicate content is not accepted by Google search algorithms.
Display Ads – Ads on a display community which consist of many distinct formats along with: Images, flash, video, and audio. Additionally normally called banner ads, those are the classified ads which can be visible around the web on news sites, blogs, and social media.
Display Network – A group of website and app that allows display ads or image ads on their websites. Like Google as a network base of 2 million display network with high traffic or engagement online. You can target keyword, blogs, website and also re marketing based on your business.
Ecommerce – Commercial transactions conducted electronically on the Internet throught business websites. Mostly we can find a lot of eCommerce business online selling various category products in B2B & B2C sector.
Email Marketing – Emails designed & sent to target audience to get max open rate & click on the call to action or service.
Engagement – Any interaction from by audience as share, like & comment on our content , blog or post is called engagement.
Evergreen – Content material that has value after the submit date and remain used and repeatedly referenced by customers long after it’s created.
Editorial Calendar – A calendar used for scheduling, growing, drafting, and even monitoring the content of a blog.
Featured Snippet – Featured snippets are selected search results which are be featured on top of the google search result in a box. Search engine find the best answer for the search query. Getting on the top list means getting extra brand exposure on search engine.
Facebook Advertising – Facebook advertising allows you to promote your brand in their ad network, as Facebook has a vast audience from all group its an idea way to reach you target audience both on mobile & web. You can target audience on search interest of what they like & share on Facebook . you can also do micro lever geographic ads, demographic, occupation etc. it also given a define reach of what amount you are planning to spend for the ad.
Facebook Business Page – A business page created on Facebook with use of a user profile to represent company. With creation of business page you also get access to ad manager where you can promote your page by running ad campaign. Apart from that company page can engage with audience by post creatives and in return get like, share comment & also receive message or business queries.
Google Analytics – Google launched Google Analytics in November 2005. a free software to track and review website visitors and their action for conversion on the website. it help marketer to create campaign bases on analytics report by comparing past visit. it one of the most use analytics provider at the internet.
Google Adwords – Google adwords is a advertising service provided by google where marketer can run ads on google search and its advertising network properties, it a different ads category and enables marketers to run ads on their budget and pay once the ads action is completed like click on a ad or on 1000 impression. most used method is pay per click.
Google My Business – A free and easy tool to manage & organize your business online presence on search result . You can optimize your location , name address number website link, working hours and also review from the customer. The main role is local or Geo based SEO as it target geographic related keywords or the search.
Google Maps – It’s a web mapping service by google. It display satellite, imagery street map 360 panoramic view of the street, it also help with real time traffic , route planing for journey with time estimate to reach any destination via vehicle public transport or walking.
Google Algorithm – A formula of codes used by google to analysis web pages according to user request result, it get send out algorithms with different updates that accors pages on latrenate days or nearly 500-600 time in a year. If your website passes all the algorithm it is likely that your website will rank in search engine.
Google Search Console (formerly Webmaster Tools) – Google search console also known as google webmaster. It is a free service offered by google to check indexing of the website optimize the visibility by adjusting the crawling of the website in simple it help you to have a check on the health of the website. You can submit XML sitemap for indexing, find keyword search queries for website, disallow link from different website and many more on webmaster.
GCLID – GCLID is a globally used unique tracking parameter small string of number & letter that provided unique id codes for on each list of the website it also helps pass information between analytics & adwords. Its is user to track adwords link but user cannot see the tracking code it will be stored in the web server log file.
Hashtag – A word phrase used after a # used in most of the social media handle, it works as a keyword on social meta or a tag to get best and trending result. A hashtag use by maximum number of people create a trend and becomes a trending hashtag on specific topic.
Header – Top portion of a website that contains imp information of website in html is important code or traking code that is placed in header section.
Heatmap – A map or image that shows the behavior/ action of the visitor on the web page like click time spend & scroll. The software indicate the behavior by different color or percent on the activity. It helps marketer to make changes according or create campaign.
HTML – HTML stands for Hypertext Markup Language
HTTP – HTTP method HyperText transfer Protocol. are different set of code that is used to define how web browser should response to command for e.g. if a web page is not available & the user hits the URLs them web server take the command and show 404 error on the web page.
HTTPS – Hyper text transfer protocol secure is different version on HTTP which add a security layer to website through SSL certification, it here by indicated that data on the server is secured adds a trust value from the user to enter their data. Any website that ask data or payment details is need to have a HTTPS enabled.
Hummingbird – Hummigbird is a algorithm designed to focus on long term phase than short keywords, which is also helpful for current of voice search.
Hyperlinks – Common term used in computing which acts as a a single point to an entire file with a click, hover or tap on it.
Iframe – When an HTML document carries another HTML document within its body it leads to the creation of an Iframe. It acts as a bridge to embed content from one source to different web page.
Impression – The quantity of ads shown on a page usually with regards to Pay per click advertising methods leaves an impression on the page, Hence the term is coined as "Impression".
Impression Share – It is the analysis of the difference between the number of impressions had against the projected amount of the same.
Inbound Marketing – "Inbound' marketing is a relatively new term for "Search Engine Optimization"although it includes a broader spectrum of strategies and policies used by the website to influence their target audience.
Index – Could be generally referred to as the glossary of all the web pages kept for searchers by Google. Could also be used in context wherein Google infuses the website into its own search results.
IP Address – A very oftenly heard term IP( Internet Protocol) address is basically an identification number for the device set using the internet for locating and acknowledging its unique presence for a number of reasons varying from security to differentiation.
Inbound Link – A link the direct to your website from another website is called inbound link.
Influencers/Influencer Marketing – Use of social leader,popular icon or famous celebrity to promote their brand is called influencer marketing.
Infographic – Infographic is a visual representation of complex information data or knowledge in a easy & clear form, is visually appealing helps human to understand a large data & information.
Interstitial Ads – Page inserted in a normal flow structure on a website as a pop up on an click action in the page.
Keyword – Keyword refers to a suggestive piece of information that the user is searching for and knowing exactly what that is can help the search engine provide you with optimum results which in the end is what SEO is all about.
Keyword Phrase – The major difference between 'Keyword' and ' Keyword Phrase' is that the latter makes use more than one expressions to filter out the slightly irrelevant findings to get through to the most important data pertaining to the search that uses the phrase or combination of keywords.
Keyword Stuffing – In an attempt to influence the search engines many web pages try to frequent a keyword over and over again in their content as well as meta tags to get better rankings resulting in an Algorithmic devaluation or a penalty from Google. This is called Keyword stuffing.
Landing Page – As the name suggests the page where you land up as an entrance point to the website upon clicking on a provided link is called landing page.
Lead – A customer that comes in with a intention of getting a business service is called a lead, lead can be acquired through ads, calls, email & online form.
Link Network – It is a network that allows exchange or buying backlinks to improve ranking on search engine (SERP) but it also called one of the black hat SEO and google once indexed any action on link m=network on a website might get penalize for violating google guide lines.
Lookalike Audience – lookalike audience are audience that has similar interest or qualities. Facebook ad serves an option called look alike audience where it targets audience from a particular source ( from Facebook page like , email list) from which it identifies similar features between audience members.
Long Tail Keyword – long tail keyword is a keyword phase that contains atleast 3 word & is a another variation of the keyword phase which aims for less competition through higher search intent and more specific searches for a search query
Meta Title Tags – The title description of a web page in 160 word is called meta title tag, it helps search engine to show result as it passes the message to crawler about the website use & it also appears on search result for the targeted keywords.
Meta Description – A brief description of the page in 320 words which gives search engine a detail idea about the page to show up in result for targeted keywords in description, it also appears a website info in search engine result.
Meta Keywords – keyword that are place to target specific service of the page with it needs to rank is called meta keywords, currently meta keywords doesn't play role in search engine indexing for the keywords due to is abuse on some website.
Nofollow – The link that doesn't allow link juice to transfer from present website to target keywords website is called no follow link, in other world it doesn't pass any befits of link on a good website to your website.
Organic – The traffic source of the website that come from search result and it is not a part of any ads campaign from search engine, is called organic traffic, the success of any seo activity is defined by organic increase in organic traffic or goal completion from organic source.
Panda – Released in 2011, panda is an algorithm developed by google to analysis the quality of the content present on the web page, it also devalues or penalized the site with poor , thin or duplicate content. The panda update is released by google and run for anywhere around 5-15 days
PBN (Private Blog Network) – Private blog network also know as link farm/ networks it a collection or group of privately owned network blog by same company. Such network are man created to manipulate the search engine ranking by hyperlinking keywords link to particular website. google in 2014 had targeted just website with manual action with penalization.
Penguin – Launched in 2012, penguin is algorithm developed b google to analyse and check link referring to particular website, it was made to hunt down wrong practice of seo for better ranking by using black hat seo methods.
Pigeon – Pigeon update is all about listing done for business in local target areas, it was first rolled out in July 2014, It help a lot in during and ranking for locally targeted keywords.
PPC / Pay-Per-Click – its associated with google ad or Facebook as where the marketer has to pay only once that ads is being clicked by user regardless on now many time it did appear or if the goal to the page is completed.
Quality Score – A rating score given by google adword for a PPC campaign ads depending the content of the ad copy, landing page structure for a high click through rate which helps you get a higher quality score for your ad campaign.
Rankings – Ranking is refers to a position of a website thought a keyword associated with it on the search engine, ranking ma increases or decrease over time depending on the search activity and algorithm. It’s plays a very important role in seo & over all digital marketing activity.
Reciprocal Link – A agreement between two website to provide hyperlink within their own website to each other.s site is called a reciprocal link. This link also help to improve ranking by if the are abused or manipulated by search engine then the websites may get penalized.
Redirect – Moving one web address to a new or different address without any user command is called redirect. There are different type on redirection like 301 - permanent redirection, 302- temporary redirection for better user experience in case on new web page or new service provided for old.
Referral – a link present on a website that link to another website and is a user click and land on the hyperlink url it is called referral link and referral traffic, it simply called s referral link.
Rel Canonical – Same as canonical link which is a html element that help webmaster or search engine identify original page or content in a website again to any duplicate content present in the web. To avoid ranking issue or penalization.
Remarketing – re marketing is a smart way to connect audience who have previously viewed or used your services to reengage with them for achieving targets. May ads service offers re marketing ads campaign by help of cookies stored or released through browser and in re marketing campaign the ads follows the user and shows ads on different website to get their attention which may lead to a goal completion.
Robots.txt – robot.txt file is file which block the crawler to crawl web pages listed in the file . It help you to keep unwanted pages in your web page away from your indexed pages list.
ROAS – A measuring matrix that helps understand profit made compare to ad spent on a particular campaign. Its help you to understand and evaluate what can be done next to increase the profile with less advertising efforts.
ROI – ROI stands for return on investment. Its is to understand how much return one has made against the money spent for the achieved profit. Its also gives a idea on how the ad campaign is working.
RSS – RSS is a easy way to track frequently published or updated material such as web log, headlines, blogs, news etc in a simple format.
Unique Visitors – According to Analytics metrics unique visitor who have visited the website with unique IP address is a Unique visitors.
URL – URL stands for Uniform Resource Locator and is the web address for a particular website .URL refers to what specific web page a web browser is viewing.
UI – Stands for user Interface. consumer interface is the region with which a person interacts with some thing thru a digital device. suitable UI must be fluid and smooth for the general public to use & understand.
UX – UX stands for user experience so its refer to website/ app designed for user to increase conversion rate by testing different layout font content & color, it is important to have a good ux for business page or app to drive returning visitors.
Visitors – A metric in Google Analytics that quantifies a user of a website who have visited over a specific time period.is called visitors. visitors are of two type new visitors - the first time visitors second returning visitors who have browsed at least once in given frame of time.
Web 2.0 – The second section of development of the world wide web, marked by way of a shift from static net pages to dynamic content material, in addition to social media and user generated content material.
White Hat – SEO practice that is doesn't include any spamming or unethical way of driving trafficking or ranking is called white hat SEO.
Wireframe – a layout of web page or any landing page basically a raw first design is called a wireframe which later is designed and html to create a website.
XML Sitemap – An XML sitemap used for search engine to crawl the list of page available on the website. It’s a navigation help for crawler to index website. This file or document is not for human use thought it can be view by human.
Yelp – A social platform that help user to review business. It has a great domain authority. It rank in search engine, that make any review for website on yelp trustworthy, it also prompts advertising programs that’s help marketer to advertise & market they product to yelp user based on keyword search.